CPSDA Association Awards

CPSDA recognizes members annually at the awards banquet during the CPSDA Annual Conference.

CPSDA Trailblazer Award
Recognition of the visionary goals and groundbreaking innovation brought to the profession and to CPSDA
  • 2020: Laura Moretti Reece, MS, RD, CSSD, LDN, Female Athlete Program, Boston Children's Hospital
  • 2018: Shawn Zell, RD, CSSD, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 2017: Clint Wattenberg, MS, RD, CSCS, Ultimate Fighting Championship
  • 2016: Amy Bragg, RD, LD, University of Alabama
  • 2015: Mary Ellen Bingham, MS, RD, CSSD, Miami Dolphins
  • 2014: Dave Ellis, RD, CSCS
  • 2013: James Harris III, MS, RD, CSCS, Philadelphia Eagles
  • 2012: Michelle Rockwell, MS, RD, Nutrition Counselor, Raleigh-Durham, NC
  • 2011: Rob Skinner, MS, RD, CSCS, Naval Special Warfare

CPSDA Service Award
Recognition of the invaluable contributions and outstanding service given to the profession and to CPSDA
  • 2020: Christi Logan, MS, RD, CSSD, PES, LDN, U.S. Army Special Operations
  • 2019: Jackie Barcal, MS, RD, CSSD, LD, IMG Academy
  • 2018:  Lauren Link, RD, CSSD, Purdue University
  • 2017: Randy Bird, RD, University of Virginia
  • 2016: Susan Kundrat, MS, RD, CSSD, LDN, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
  • 2015: Amy Culp, RD, CSSD, LD, University of Texas
  • 2014: Caroline Mandel, MS, RD, University of Michigan
  • 2013: Jonathan Tanguay, MS, RD, LD, Texas A&M University
  • 2012: Allison Maurer, MS, RD, CSCS, University of Tennessee
  • 2011: Lindsey Remmers, MS, RD, University of Nebraska

CPSDA Excellence/Perseverance Award
Recognition of the highest quality of care to athletes and for extraordinary dedication to the profession and to CPSDA
  • 2021: The Members of CPSDA
  • 2020: Amber Yudell, MS, RD, CSSD, Arizona State University
  • 2019: Brett Singer, MS, RD, CSSD, LD, Memorial Hermann IRONMAN Sports Medicine Institute
  • 2018:  Leah Thomas, MS, RD, CSSD, Georgia Tech
  • 2017: Katie McInnis, RD, LD, University of Texas
  • 2016: Amy Freel, MS, RD, Indiana University
  • 2015: Beth Wolfgram, MS, RD, CSSD, CSCS, University of Utah
  • 2014: Victoria Rosenfeld, RD, LDN, Princeton University
  • 2013: Jennifer Ketterly, MS, RD, LD, University of Georgia
  • 2012: Joel Totoro, RD, University of Michigan
  • 2011: Jana Heitmeyer, M.Ed., MS, RD, LD, CSCS, SCCC, University of Missouri

Tom Osborne Award
Recognition of unyielding support for the value of sports nutrition and contributions made to the growth of CPSDA
  • 2021: Karen Daigle, Lieutenant Colonel, US Army
  • 2020: LaGwyn Durden, NCAA Sport Science Institute
  • 2019: Dr. John Ivy, University of Texas
  • 2018: Lawrence Epstein, Ultimate Fighting Championships
  • 2017: Tim Maxey, MLB/PA Joint Strength & Conditioning Coordinator
  • 2016: Troy Flanagan, Milwaukee Bucs
  • 2015: Master Sargent Michael Ty Fischer, United States Army
  • 2014: Mark Verstegen, Founder/President, EXOS
  • 2013: Greg McGarity, Director of Athletics, University of Georgia
  • 2012: Mike Alden, Director of Athletics, University of Missouri

Professional Scholarship Award
Awarded to two CPSDA professional members to use in advancing their practice or enhancing their knowledge.
  • 2021: Angela Bruzina, Minnesota United FC; Susana Melendez-Whiteman, Sam Houston State University
  • 2020: Lee Stowers, University of Alabama Birmingham; Rachel Manor, University of North Carolina

Graduate Scholarship Award
Exemplifying dedication and determination to become a sports dietitian and member of CPSDA
  • 2021: Leticia Cherpe de Souza, MS, Baylor University
  • 2020: Hannah Peterson, University of Alabama
  • 2019: Adam Serpa, University of Pittsburg
  • 2018: Emily Werner, Michigan State
  • 2017: Tim FitzPatrick, Virginia Tech
  • 2016: Stephanie Kolloff, Auburn University
  • 2015: Becky Lindberg, Virginia Tech State University
  • 2014: Elizabeth Miller, Florida State University
  • 2013: Laura Kunces, MS, RD, University of Connecticut
  • 2012: Lauren Kort, University of Georgia

Undergraduate Scholarship Award
Exemplifying dedication and determination to become a sports dietitian and member of CPSDA
  • 2021: Bailey Pihera, Lipscomb University
  • 2020: Abby Olcott, Olivet Nazarene University
  • 2019: Krystal Hawks, Kent State University
  • 2018:  Libbi Loos, Texas A&M
  • 2017: Taylor Koenigs, Auburn University
  • 2016: Benjamin Verdow, Ohio State University
  • 2015: Christina Crowder, University of Arkansas
  • 2014: Robert "Bobby" Leonard, West Chester University
  • 2013: Sydney Snellman, Auburn University

CPSDA Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Dietetic Internship Scholarship Award
Awarded to one Black, Indigenous, or Person of Color (BIPOC) student pursuing a career in sports nutrition to attend an accredited dietetic internship of their choice

  • 2021: Adria Butler, Florida State University

CPSDA "Athlete of the Year" Award
Whose athletic accomplishments and academic achievements reflect dedication to sports nutrition
  • 2021: Shawn Cheshire; Emil Soehnlen, Purdue University
  • 2020: Sarah Griffith, Purdue University; Noah Steele, Sam Houston State University
  • 2019: Sakiko Mainagawa, The Ohio State University; Rontavius "Toe" Groves, University of North Carolina
  • 2018: Sarah Disanza, University of Wisconsin; SSG Nathan Schuler, 3rd Special Forces Group, Fort Bragg
  • 2017: Yaasmeen Bedart-Ghani, University of Texas; Nick Kern, UCLA
  • 2016: Amber Rolfzen, University of Nebraska; Alex Ellis, University of Tennessee
  • 2015: Becca Johnson, University of Missouri; Nate Orchard, University of Utah
  • 2014: Elise Walch, Florida State University ; Connor Barwin, Football
  • 2013: Katie Breathitt, Ole Miss; Adam Duvall, MLB Class AA
  • 2012: Jeff Demps, University of Florida

CPSDA Lifetime Member Award
2014: Keith Wheeler, PhD, Abbott Labs and EAS Academy